Skip to content

Blister Update- Cure?!

October 28, 2010

 

Bunion Cushion found at Walmart or drug stores in the callous/bunion section.

I had a lot of interest in my little quest to fix my pusher foot blister issue. Since then I’ve researched a lot and gone all out finding a solution. I think I may have actually found one!! YAY! 😀

 

For the last 4 practices or so (plus one game), I have used a bunion cushion with medical tape. Basically, I place the bunion cushion in just the right spot then wrap medical tape around it to keep it from slipping around. This is a little more tricky, just trial and error with the angles and tightness of the tape. I ended up using a diagonal criss-cross type method with the tape to keep my foot from feeling restricted and also keeping that darn cushion in place for a couple of hours.

When I first put it on and then the skate, it felt weird. It felt a little tight in my skate, so I loosened the laces a little and just went for it. I’ve since not had ONE blister and furthermore, I have a nice big callous. YAY! 😀 I’m going to continue using this little guy and hope to never suffer from derby blisters again! Why did it take me so long to figure this out?!

Hope this helps some of you out. I imagine that even if your blister is not on that area of your foot, you can modify the cushion and tape it to the affected area. Its a nice squishy jelly feel that your foot will welcome. Let me know if it works for you!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Scarlett Go'Manson permalink
    October 28, 2010 10:56 am

    Going to Walmart at lunch to pick one of these babies up so I’ll have it for practice tonight. I am so hopeful this will work for me too! Monday night’s speed class for endurance nearly debilitates me for the remainder of normal derby practices all week because of this stupid blister issue!

    Thank you for doing the homework and THANK YOU for sharing the scoop once you had it!

  2. Scarlett Go'Manson permalink
    November 4, 2010 1:43 pm

    Walmart in my area didn’t carry these but CVS did and I’ve used them all week at practice! OMG a world of difference! Now if I could just stop the other (less bothersome) blisters on my arch – but I’m pretty confident that’s going to take new boots…

    • November 5, 2010 11:30 am

      Yay! Glad it worked for you! I bet if you got more of that stuff, you could hack it into the right shape and tape it up…
      UPDATE-
      So I thought I had enough of a callous to not need the blister cushion any more, I was wrong. I went without it last night, and until we did sprinting suicides I was fine. No blister today, but it did hurt last night, so I’m going to make that little cushion part of my -every time I skate- routine. 🙂

      What kind of boots do you have?

  3. November 14, 2010 4:50 pm

    Yes. I agree with you.
    Somethimes we forgot what the basics.

Leave a Reply

