Skip to content

Visiting another league, eye-opening and recommended!

October 11, 2010

In July I had the privilege of visiting family in the Tampa Bay area. A few weeks prior to my visit, I contacted the Tampa Bay Derby Darlins and asked if I could meet up with them for a few practices while I was in town. The were very accommodating and welcomed me with open arms. 🙂

I was a little nervous, still not a great derby player, practicing with a Power Ranking league.  I arrived and found things very different from the get go. The first night, there were well over 60 girls at the rink! Some were fresh meat others were b-team girls. The league had a set coach, a set plan, and a set schedule. Everyone was on the floor on time and no one complained about water breaks?! (Ok, I’m a wuss, I admit it.) I found the sheer numbers to be exhilarating! I was energized from the get go and enjoyed practice very much.

This rink had really nice wood floors. My challenge was to very quickly re-learn how to skate on such a sticky surface with flat outs (squishy). Falling was hilarious, being used to a dusty cement painted floor, I sliiiiiiiiiiiiiide. NOT SO on the wood. I stopped. QUICK. Which meant I actually fell on my face. It was a little embarrassing to say the least, but what-ev, right?! I met some really neat derby girls, lunch lady- and others. Also Lil Sinner was visiting from Memphis, she’s phenomenal.

So, all in all, I DO recommend visiting another league if you are on vacation or just passing through a place. Even if you learn nothing (not possible) you are meeting sistas from another motha. It’s all worth it.

I’m going to look into the Franky Panky in 2011. Should be fun. 🙂

One Comment leave one →
  1. Scarlett Go'Manson permalink
    October 11, 2010 9:16 pm

    I just had the same experience visiting family in Hunstville, AL and skating with the Dixie Derby Girls. They too have a nice hardwood floor unlike our coated concrete, I felt the same nerves wanting to relearn how to skate, and took some major falls with my new derby friends. I loved every second of it!

Leave a comment